Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fishing Drop offs and Ledges

Post Thanks / Like

Question Fishing Drop offs and Ledges

I am fairly new at specifically targeting crappie and have been suprisingly successful at catching them over and around brush piles but I am ready for a new challenge. I read in another post about finding them along ledges and drop-offs. Can someone go into more detail about this? I would love to try this next time I go out but I don't have the first clue what I am looking for.

I can always find loads of fish in about 20-25 feet of water just off of a hump or drop off but how do I know if I am looking at crappie, walleye, channel cat, etc? In years past we have trolled out in this deeper water until we wore all the paint off of the lures and never did catch anything out there in the deeper water other than maybe the occasional white bass.

Once I do find them, do you fish them as you would a brush pile and just stay right on top of them or do you slowly work back and forth over them while holding your minnow at their depth?

Anyone care to share any information on how you do it and what type of structure you are looking for?

Thank you,
    Keith

Post Thanks / Like

WOW!! 74 views already,, please folks dont all talk at once!!

Post Thanks / Like

wish I knew what to tell you...I think it's a great question...hope you get an answer....I know if I found a bunch of fish, I'd fish 'em till I figured out if they were crappie or not....all I know...good luck

Post Thanks / Like