Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grenada Lake Monsters (day early and a day late!)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Grenada Lake Monsters (day early and a day late!)

Well our crappie club had its Grenada tournament this past weekend. I headed up Thursday night so I could be on the water at daybreak Friday. I knew the wind was going to be an issue so I put in at the Grenada landing and planned to fish the South bank towards Gravesport. My partner and I started riding to see what cover would be fishable. We found our way to a creek and began to fish the mouth of it. We were trolling jigs and would straight pole tops when we would come up on one. This was producing some nice fish but not tournament fish. We made our way into the creek and slow trolled up towards the bank. The water was muddy and about 6 feet deep. We had black and chartreuse jigs on. As we inched towards the bank one of my poles bent down. I set the hook and it felt like a good fish. My partner immediately went for the net and a few seconds later I had my first 3 lb crappie in the boat. I immediately set the pole back in the holder to look at the fish. In the time it took to turn and look at this monster and turn around my pole was bent over again. My partner went for the net and to my amazement I had my second 3 pounder in the boat! Well we left the area in hopes of another big fish biting day of the tournament. We fished a few more areas but the excitement was a little to much and we ended up riding and showing the SLABS off!