Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New guy checkin' in...

Post Thanks / Like

Default New guy checkin' in...

Hey everyone, just lettin' ya know I am here, for what it's worth.

I am new to Crappie fishing, kinda. I grew up fishing with my Dad in Lakes Belton and Stillhouse when I was in Junior High. Then in High School it was the Nueces River system around Campwood, Texas. I stopped fishing when I got out of High School, I'm not real sure why.

However, recently we had an Extreme Hunt out at Lake Granger for wild pigs. What makes an Extreme Hunt extreme is that you can't bring any food, you must eat what you kill, catch or forage. A couple of us brought our poles and it jsut happened that it was right at the beginning of the White Bass run, so we didn't go hungry this time. Not that we usually go hungry, but Whites are better tasting than Raccoon!

So, I went home and broke out all the old gear and lubed, fixed and restrung everything.

Those few hours of fishing rekindled a fire in me I thought had died long ago. MY three year old son (Gage) and I have been out two of the last two weekends. We haven't killed 'em yet but brought back enough both times to make a couple of meals. This past weekend we cought several nice crappie (previous weekend was Whites only) and now I am ate up with catching more. Is that normal?

I have a 12 foot Alu. Jon Boat with a 9.8 four stroke hangin' off the back. Used primarily for hunting, I am thinking now of ways to turn it into a one man Crappie Jaloppie.

Granger Lake is my "main lake", for lack of a better term. But I live close to Georgetown, the upper end of Travis and several other Highland Lakes.

I would love the opportunity to fish with someone who knows the area or just knows what they are doing. My boat ain't fancy, but it is seaworthy!