Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Techniques

Post Thanks / Like

Default Techniques

I was tightlining minnows on Cumberland yesterday and figured out that if I dropped my minnow to the depth that the crappie were holding at I couldn't get em to hit it. If I dropped it deeper then slow cranked it up to the right depth I would get a strike almost everytime.I was talking to a friend and he said he had to do the exact same technique on Barren the other day to get them to bite. I'm fairly new to serious crappie fishing, ive only ever fished for them in spring when they are spawning until now , and was just wondering if this is a common technique people use or did I just stumble onto something?

Post Thanks / Like

you got the strike out of REACTION to sight , movement maybe even a little vibration ....three elements for a reaction strike - the crankbaits used to catch crappie in hot weather works so well - in my opinion is because of all the three i stated earlier.....but, what the heck do I know ? ha ha ha
    Last edited by CrappiePappy; 06-30-2011 at 08:38 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

just like most/alot strikes happen when the lure is falling, the fish sees an easy opportunity for a meal.
    GO BIG ORANGE !

I meant to behave, but there were just way too many other options available at the time.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Welcome D U ...

Read this : Vertical Casting | Older Articles and you'll see that it's a technique that's been around for awhile. Thumbs Up

Actually, I used to do that same thing ... back around 50yrs ~ ago. (when using minnows 99% of the time)