PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on Farm Subsidies

crappiefarmer
11-04-2004, 08:35 PM
First, I want everyone to know that I am an american farmer and damn proud of it. I take great pride in knowing that I grow food to feed our great nation. My dad and I farm around 1200 acres. We grow cotton, soybeans and peanuts. I know for the average person, farming is a boring subject but there seems to be a political firestorm on the rise when it comes to subsidies. This is going to be another big issue in the next couple of years as congress will begin to write the next farm bill and decide how much tax payer money will go to help keep farmers afloat. Some people don't understand why they are having to pay so much in taxes to farmers so I will give my opinions and why I think that we will have to continue to subsidise farmers.

First of all, don't let anyone tell you we are the most efficient farmers in the world. We once were but now that a cotton picker cost over 300,000 dollars when they were once a tenth of that cost you might begin to see why we are having so much trouble staying afloat. In 1993 a bag of cotton seed cost about 40$ a bag. Now a bag of cotton will run about 300$ a bag. Farming is the only business in this country that can't pass expense increases on to the consumers. The price of cotton right now is around 45 cent a pound. Break even price is 55 to 60 cent a pound depending on your expenses and yield.