Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Spoons

Post Thanks / Like

Question Spoons

I am new to trout fishing. I have been a couple times on the Little Red River here in Arkansas. It is clear, and kinda fast moving. I got a couple lil cleos and rooster tails. I have not had so much as a bite. I really have no idea what I am doin, so I am looking for a little guidance. I don't care to use live bait. I thought about trying some marshmallows or some power bait. i have seen people catching trout with spoons, but I don't know what I am not doing.

Thanks,
    BobbyJoe

Post Thanks / Like

Hello, usually rooster tail spinners will work good. I like the yellow coach dog pattern. If you are gooing to try spoons try one with a little red on it. I use sutton spoons mostly , but I fish in a lake for trout, I don't know how they will work in a stream.
    RUST NEVER SLEEPS

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks, I will pick up a couple roostertails. It can't hurt. lol

Post Thanks / Like

BobbyJoe,

Make sure the line you're using is light and clear. I recommend 4lb mono. I've seen people fishing side by side on that river and one will be catching one after another while the other isn't having any luck at all fishing the same bait, but with heavier line or braid.

I'll second the recommendation for Roostertails - they are very good. Powerbait eggs usually work extremely well on the Little Red. Start with chartruese and then switch to red if they aren't killing the chartruese. Use a salmon egg hook with a bb sized split shot about a foot up the line. Cast straight across the current and let it drift along. I've never used marshmallows there, but I've heard of people catching them with 'em. I've caught some trout on the Spring river with Little Cleos, so I know trout will hit them, but I haven't ever tried one on the Little Red.

Post Thanks / Like

BJ,