Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Newbie In Need of Tips/Advice

Post Thanks / Like

Question Newbie In Need of Tips/Advice

Thanks for taking the time to read this and put up any help you can give me at all. I am new to crappie fishing, and I love to bass fish. I am 14 and fish from the shore. I have never really spent a lot of time crappie fishing, so I started reading this site and I am really interested in getting into crappie fishing. Can you guys give me the basic strategies on how and where to catch crappies. Thank you for reading this and posting up whatever you can. Even links to articles about how-to tactics for crappies would be great! Thanks guys!! CoRy
    CoRy:cool:

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome aboard!
    Go to the home page and select the link to Articles and Tips. Many of those articles are written by Bruce Spangler, who is a tournament fisherman here in Ohio. Many others here on the forum have contributed their knowledge as well.
    Crappiepappy shares his knowledge without reserve. He answered all my questions when my husband andI got back into fishing after a long absence.
    Pick up a copy of Crappie World. There are usually good crappie articles in In-Fisherman and you might want to check the Iowa Game & Fish. Good luck and good fishing. - Roberta
    "Anglers are born honest,
    but they get over it." - Ed Zern

Post Thanks / Like

I agree with Roberts get yourself a subscription to Crappieworld. I started crappie fishing off the banks myself. The first thing I did was buy a 9' rod and a good spinning reel. Then I would use a slip float and jigs. The benefit to it is you can continuesly change the depth of your jigs until you find the fish. I also would carry a 5' ul and use it to pitch to structure if I was fishing around tight areas where the 9' wouldn't work. Also, dont throw out the good ol' minnow. Hope this works out for ya and good luck.