Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbe ?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbe ?

I'm new to Crappie fishing with anything other than a minnow and have never caught Crappie on a jig. I have trouble tying on new hooks,jigs etc. I dont see so good anymore. I read the post on no knot clips? and then something about a hook you dont have to tie ? I also read a article in the Mississippi Sportsman from the Magnolia Crappie club about using a Lindy Thill cork which appeals to me because I like using a cork for any fishing (thats just me) and I know thats not probably the best way sometimes. I need to start from the basics on Crappie .
    The best way is probably hiring a guide and get a crash course. I live in Aberdeen Ms and live on a canal just off the Tombigbe Waterway. I have tons of Crappie,Bream and Catfish feeding off my dock. The Bream are easy to catch with crickets only beacause there are so many. I feed floating fish every afternoon.
    I catch a lot of big Bull Blue Gills. I'm sorta a catch and realease guy but do keep a few Bulls to eat on ocassion. Sorry for such a long message but I would appreciate any help. Tks Chuck

Post Thanks / Like

From Toledo Bend Texas!

No Knot Clips are small hook shaped clips developed for fly fishing, but have used them on my line so I don't need to tie again and again every time I change jigs for color or size. I ask the question because I am looking at a different one and like them so far and was curious how many people used what.

As far as hooks you don't have to tie one, I don't know that one unless you used one of the clips.

Jigs, Try some hand tied or if you buy them from Walmart expect them to come apart unless you use some glue on them. Lots of guy here tie jigs including my self so feel sure you can find what you need in that department if you want to use jigs.

Enjoy and ask anything you want to know and someone will help. You can always PM me if I can help I will.