Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Me Purchase the Right Trolling Rods on a Budget

Post Thanks / Like

Default Help Me Purchase the Right Trolling Rods on a Budget

I just can't afford the really nice stuff right now. I've spent too much on the boat already! What I need are 6 rods for spider trolling that are very versatile in nature. I will mainly be trolling for crappie, but would like the option of trolling for walleye and smallmouth as well. I guess $20-25 a rod is what I can do at the moment.
    Given this information, what rods would you suggest? Please be kind of specific because I'm new to this concept. So far, the best rod I've found in my price range is the B&M Black Widow with Guides and Handles for $14. However, will the rod tip be sensitive enough to detect a crappie bite on this rod? It isn't made specifically for crappie. Maybe my question should be, is it possible for one group of trolling rods to cover a variety of purposes and types of fish? Thanks for any help here.

C D S

Post Thanks / Like

I am new to the spider rigging set up myself. I purchased all of my 12ft rods from Grizzly Jig Company out of MO. They are the West Point, MS BnM poles. I also purchased the Bucks mini crappie reel to go on them. This past Saturday was the second time I have had the group fishing and they did great. The poles are $25 if you purchase 3 or more at a time, and the reels are $12. Go online and buy them, they will ship them to your door quick. They beat everyone that I found on the net, even the manufaturer!

Post Thanks / Like

buy firecast at grizzly or other venders.96% graphite. very light and durable.used them for years.
    The truth is hard to accept, so is life .

monkscrappie is offline Crappie.com 1K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Check out the HT Panfish on Monk's Crappie

Monk

Post Thanks / Like