Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Loop Knot

Post Thanks / Like

Default Loop Knot

Anyone use a loop knot when using jigs?...I am going to start using this knot..Seems to keep the jig great position..

Jeremy

Post Thanks / Like

I do when the jig is balanced. If it's not, I use a clinch and reposition it when needed. I use umbrella tubes a lot and if I'm not using a big weight they hang tail down.

Post Thanks / Like

Talltimber,

I am new to jig fishing for crappie, only fished with minnows. How can you tell when a jig is unbalanced?

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I ALWAYS use the loop knot longlining jigs.
    Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.

Post Thanks / Like

I also always use a loop knot, its fast and easy to tie and works great for long-lining. Like any knot, after you fish it a while, I'd recommend you re-tie it. I've lost a couple of good fish from my knot breaking but that was after a long day of fishing where I was really catching them good. Got a little lazy and the fish were biting so good, I didn't take the time to re-tie. Now, I always inspect my knot and re-tie after catching 10-12 fish.

shipahoy41 is offline Crappie.com Legend - 2022 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I am always using the loop knot. To me it makes my jigs more life like because they have greater movement.

You will want to use enough weight so that 1/2 your float is underwater when you cast it. Look for any change in float behavior such as rising up, leaning to the right of left, and of course going under the water. If you see any of these signs set the hook.
    Last edited by shipahoy41; 04-05-2011 at 11:34 AM.
    Aquatic Species Removal Engineer.
    May God be with you. Keep CALM and STAY ANCHORED with your faith.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by buckhavoc View Post