Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Kayak Crappie Fishermen?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Kayak Crappie Fishermen?

Howdy Guys,

I'm new to crappie fishing and would love to here from you guys who fish via kayak for crappie. Any thougths on gear and setup for crappie fishing on your kayak would be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

I've been kayak crappie fishing sinse October and love it. I first bought a Wilderness ride kayak and love it. I fished for 2 or 3 months and caught a lot of fish, several limits of crappie. I then bought a Hobie Outback and man that is a crappie catching machine. As far as kayaks go I think it is perfect for the way I fish. I'm a jigger and I can suspend over tops and jig them or anchor if the wind is high. Move from top to top. I have mine rigged pretty well with live well, fishfinder, lunch box, rod holders, tackleboxes and everything I need. If you would like some pics just pm me.
    Mike Barnett

Post Thanks / Like

PM Slabsrus from the MI board. He's strictly a kayak fisherman and been doin it since about the time he could walk I think.

Life has many choices, eternity has two...choose wisely.
    Unapplied biblical truth is like unapplied paint...how many gallons do you have sittin' around? U.D.

Post Thanks / Like

mb4850, what length of rods are you using on your Hobie? I was thinking the ultra light 5'6" would to trick? Wilderness Systems and Hobie kayaks are really nice. I have a Malibu Stealth 14 with the livewell in the middle and love it! I've got 2 ram mount rod holders on x-wing that work really well. I think they will work perfectly for crappie fishing. PM me some pics your setup, I would love to check out your setup!

yankee doodler, I will do that, thanks for your help. What part of Michigan are you from? My wife is from Flint and all of her family is still on there. I'll be bring my kayak up there this summer. Any good fishing holes in the Flint area?