PDA

View Full Version : Describe your tightlining rig



crappiefarmer
03-07-2006, 08:49 PM
What kind of rig do you use on the business end of your line? I usually rig a weight above my jig about 18". Looking for some different ideas. CF

sccamper
03-07-2006, 08:58 PM
Ive been doing about the same. For the most part Im carolina riged, Bullet sinker, bead, swivel, leader of differant lenghts and a gold hook. I have been wondering lately if its to much and fish can see it in slightly stained water.

PieEye
03-07-2006, 10:35 PM
10 ft rod... 1/8th oz jig tipped with flavor/color of the day. Sometimes weedless jig but mostly avoid hang ups with boat control and knowing a "hit" versus brush. I fish from 2-20 ft like this.

krappiekrazy
03-07-2006, 10:48 PM
http://images.snapfish.com/34649%3C49%3B%7Ffp7%3Enu%3D3254%3E6%3C6%3E%3B55%3E WSNRCG%3D3232%3A37447866nu0mrj

http://images.snapfish.com/34649%3C49%3B%7Ffp45%3Dot%3E2345%3D7%3B7%3D%3C46%3 DXROQDF%3E23239465396%3A8ot1lsi

Here is two of my rigs. One is a single hook rig and the other is a two hook rig.

The single rig:

I Slide a egg sinker on the line followed by a bead and swivel. Next tie a leader (18 in. most of the time) with jig. I use 17 lb. stren yellow. The leader is 6 lb. clear.

The two hook rig:

I tie a stand off to the main line. Leader with hook. To the bottom of the stand off tie 12 in. line. Install egg sinker with bead and swivel. Attach line with hook or jig to swivel.

Hope this helps.

ILUVCRAPPIEFISHIN
03-07-2006, 10:54 PM
He Krappiekrazy! What's the advantage of your two hook rig over the store bought crappie rigs with the bell sinker on the bottom? I assume the 6lb is so you break off a single leader instead of the whole rig.

krappiekrazy
03-07-2006, 10:59 PM
Why buy something you can make. Never like the big weight hitting the

pvc. Just like catching fish off of something I make. Just wish I could tie jigs.

pstone
03-07-2006, 11:49 PM
I use a 12ft Ozark jig pole with an 1/8 oz jig with a tube body most of the time.

bugman
03-08-2006, 07:21 AM
pstone,did you get your ozark rod from vic?i'm gonna visit him when i get back down,good deals and funny as h*ll to boot.

crappie joe
03-08-2006, 09:05 AM
He Krappiekrazy! What's the advantage of your two hook rig over the store bought crappie rigs with the bell sinker on the bottom? I assume the 6lb is so you break off a single leader instead of the whole rig.
This is the style I go with works for me when I use minnows .

SteveJ
03-08-2006, 10:03 AM
http://images.snapfish.com/34649%3C49%3B%7Ffp7%3Enu%3D3254%3E6%3C6%3E%3B55%3E WSNRCG%3D3232%3A37447866nu0mrj

http://images.snapfish.com/34649%3C49%3B%7Ffp45%3Dot%3E2345%3D7%3B7%3D%3C46%3 DXROQDF%3E23239465396%3A8ot1lsi

Here is two of my rigs. One is a single hook rig and the other is a two hook rig.

The single rig:

I Slide a egg sinker on the line followed by a bead and swivel. Next tie a leader (18 in. most of the time) with jig. I use 17 lb. stren yellow. The leader is 6 lb. clear.

The two hook rig:

I tie a stand off to the main line. Leader with hook. To the bottom of the stand off tie 12 in. line. Install egg sinker with bead and swivel. Attach line with hook or jig to swivel.

Hope this helps.

Krappiekrazy, I use the same set-up you use for the one jig but instead of the bead etc. I take a barrel sinker and pull a rubber band tru it, makes it double, leaving about 1/4 in. sticking out each end and run my line, power pro, thru it and tie off my jig. If it is too loose on your line just twist the rubber band. This way I can adjust the length of my leader to whatever plus at the end of the day just pull it down on the jig and no loose line.

PanMan_VA
03-08-2006, 04:05 PM
I use a tandem in-line rig. I have an in-line weight (from 1/4 to 1 ounce), a stand out hook for a minnow or wax worm a few inches below the weight, and either a jig or another hook a foot below the upper hook. The ends of all the lines have duo-lock snaps for quick changes as necessary.

My main line is 10/2 powerpro and my dropper line is 10# Cajun Red. The dropper line is stiff to help prevent tangles and will break before the main line. Most of the time, the line breaks between the baits when I get hung up. I keep a couple dozen of these rigs pre-tied in my tackle box when I go fishing. When I break one off, I just toss the left overs in a storage bin and put on a new rig. When I get home, I salvage the useful parts from the broken rigs and tie new ones for the next trip. I pour all of my own heads and weights so the cost for each one of these rigs is minimal.

Here is a picture:

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c397/PanMan_VA/HPIM0040.jpg

pstone
03-08-2006, 05:49 PM
Yes, and No. I got it from Pro Lures, and they got it from Vic.

Check them out when your in town, they have just about everything you need. Vic is a really good guy, and yeah he is funny too.

pstone,did you get your ozark rod from vic?i'm gonna visit him when i get back down,good deals and funny as h*ll to boot.

bugman
03-09-2006, 04:28 AM
Where is pro lures? i dont remember seeing it when i was in town.