Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: meller yeller

Post Thanks / Like

Default meller yeller

I am new to crappie fishing. I heard someone talk about a bait called I think Meller Yeller. Does anyone know about this bait and where I may order it from. Thank You

Post Thanks / Like

I did a google on it. Couldn't find anything fishing related?

Only stuff about the soft drink. :D
    All in all you're just another fish on my wall.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the try. If I come across it I will let you know. Again thank you

Post Thanks / Like

Sure.

Post Thanks / Like

Never heard of a meller yeller, but if your new to crappie fishing, I would suggest you use a minnow and slip float, easy to rig, and its a proven winner in most situations. If you would rather use artificial, there are hundreds of baits out there to choose from, which can be a little overwhelming, even for a veteran. But if artificial is your taste, I would try a 1.5 in. tube jig, ( some colors seem to work better on certain lakes, I like chartreuse, orange, and pepper tri-colors, but the more u catch on a certain color, the more confidence you will have in that particular bait) and pitch it into the cover. But when those crappie start moving shallow, sometimes a bare hook seems to get it done! Good luck to ya in whatever you choose, the main thing is to just get out there:D

Post Thanks / Like

Yeah, I agree with dedduk's post. I only got in to crappie fishing last year, and my first crappie was caught on a 2" white curlytail grub and jighead rig. I probably caught 25 in a few hours on that combo that day, but it hasn't been nearly as effective all the other times I have fished. I've also caught bass and bream on this little rig... 6" smallmouth on a crappie jig is quite a feeling, but still. I've heard tubes and other low-action baits work best in the spring, with the curly's and other HIGH action baits working best in summer, but I've not tried that yet, just heresay.