Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Extendable Poles - Rigging

Post Thanks / Like

Default Extendable Poles - Rigging

I am new at fishing the spring spawn for crappie, I bought three poles but do not have any idea as to rigging. Do I put guides on the pole, what type of line, slip cork, etc..? All suggestion and pictures will be appreciated, like I said I am new at this type of fishing.

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I bought a couple packs of eyes and put them on a couple my poles winded with thread and then super glue over the thread. Looks pretty good, sorta like factory done. Then I bought a couple of cheap line winding B & M pole reels and taped them on. Reels are not much, just allows you to let a little line out for deeper depths while tight lining. I'm planning on replacing them with Mitchell 500UL reels soon. For just fishing beaverhuts or brush along the bank when the crappie are on beds a reel isnt needed if that's what you plan on using them for.
    Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb The two I have ... 10ft & 12ft

I rigged w/o reels. I used 15lb test Cortland braid - wrapped/tied the line around the butt end - then wrapped the line around the fully extended pole, about 5-6 times - at the tip I wrapped the line around a couple of times and then turned a loop backwards over it, to secure it from slipping - then I measured out more line, the same length of the pole, and ran that line thru the tip eye - I attached a 1ft leader of mono to the end of the braid - put on a slip float - then attached the hook & sinker.