Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hook size for live bait

Post Thanks / Like

Default hook size for live bait

I'am new to crappie fishing, I was wanting to know what size of hook do you guys use for minnows and crickets any help would be a big help Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Default re:hok size

I am also new to crappie fishing and I use a size 10 or 12 seems all I can get are small minows.Not for nothing I have also caught them while trolling with medium size Rapala's and also Rat'l Traps. Hope that helps.
    tioga

frank lawhead is offline RIP Frank - Crystal is now posting on his behalf.
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile

For Minnows A #2elw Is What I Have Used For Years

Been A While On Crickets But I Would Think A #6 Would Be A Good Size
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Double naught ....

I use a #1 Eagle Claw light wire bronze Aberdeen style hook for minnows. I've used all sizes from #6 to 2/0 ... and find these to be a happy median.

As for crickets ..... I'd use either a "cricket hook" ... a #4 Aberdeen ... or a small Kahle hook. Any hook that you can stick into the cricket, and hide most of the hook, should work. "Cricket hooks" are usually long shanked hooks ... used so that you have something to grab ahold of, to get the hook back out of the mouth of the fish. Crappie don't usually "nip" at baits, like Bluegill & other "sunfish" do ... they usually suck in their prey, taste it, then decide if they like it or not ... and either swallow it or spit it out. The trick is to set the hook on them ... when they suck the bait in, and before they decide to swallow it or spit it out.