Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: getting into the jigs

Post Thanks / Like

Default getting into the jigs

I am interested in gearing up for the coming crappie season. bass pro and cabelas selection looks poor, the local box store doesn't stock anything that seems small enough to interest these finicky predators and I am looking for nirvana on the world wide web.

I'm a beginner crappie fishermen, just trying to get into some "good" jigs for night-time canal fishing. the idea is to take $50 and get a seriously better jig selection, rather than being nickle and dimed to death with whats available locally, which is, most of the time too big anyways.

quite interested in who as well as what. so far the best catch of the day, was a site called crappiepro.com... but plain up, crappiepro has almost TOO much selection. and if thats what all you experts use, if you could steer me in a good direction.

apologies is this is a repetitive topic...

i'd just also like to emphasis the word "assortment", a couple times I have puchased the seemingly Magic jig; only to be outfished by billy bob to the left, whom looking at my jigs says "oh yeah, those jigs work SOMETIMES..."

no, no... I want the assortment and the reliable. I can pick up the SOMETIMES at walmart from time to time (I don't mind being nickle and dimed on stuff that RARELY works).

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Check the classified ads.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jolie View Post
    ... bass pro and cabelas selection looks poor ...
    They do? I was at Bass Pro this weekend, and they had a ton of crappie jigs. Cabela's does, too: marabou jigs, tubes, twister tails, road runners, sliders, etc.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like