PDA

View Full Version : Bead head nymph

ACSooner80
02-24-2011, 10:11 AM
What materail is needed, and what are the most common colors? And what are the steps?

Thanks,
AC

deathb4disco
02-24-2011, 10:18 AM
There is no generic "bead head nymph". You can add a bead head to any nymph pattern you want. For example, I just ordered a collection of BHNs:

BH prince
BH nymphomaniac
BH pheasant tail
BH hare's ear

If you want a BH prince nymph, you just slide a bead on the hook, and then tie the prince nymph. Same goes for all the other patterns.

ACSooner80
02-24-2011, 10:30 AM
Ok welp I'm new to fly tyin so what are the things needed for a prince, pheasant tail, and hairs ear nymphs? Also is there a video or something to show me the steps?

Thanks,
AC

deathb4disco
02-24-2011, 10:33 AM
The prince, pheasant tail, and hare's ear are standard nymphs. They are used all over the world. Every basic fly tying book covers them.

I'm sure you can find several Youtube videos for each of them. (I just checked. Youtube is loaded with videos for each of them.)

ACSooner80
02-24-2011, 10:43 AM
Thanks,
I know that they are standard nymphs just never tied them, I will go and check youtube later on today. Thanks.

Pat
02-24-2011, 04:26 PM
Check this out............. Pat

The Basic Manual of Fly-Tying ... - Google Books (http://books.google.com/books?id=CZtHoZN6Oq8C&pg=PA198&dq=bead+head+nymph&hl=en&ei=38xmTajpAcmCgAe7j4jLCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CDgQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=bead%20head%20nymph&f=false)

quivira kid
02-24-2011, 07:38 PM
AC, what are you planning to go after with them?

ACSooner80
02-24-2011, 08:20 PM
I've got a cousin that keeps askin me if I'm tied any yet because wants some, I think he is goin to for some coldwater fishin down south of Oklahoma...not sure....What do you normally go after w/ them? Also those flies you sent me, there is one that has a bead on it and has black chenille/yarn as body and tail...I was thinkin bout doin one of those.

AC