Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Night Stalking This Weekend

Post Thanks / Like

Default Night Stalking This Weekend

I am planning on my first night stalk this weekend and need some advice. When do you start fishing? How long does it take to start getting bites? Is a channel ledge a good place, or would a deep point be better? I would appreciate any tips!

Post Thanks / Like

http://www.crappie.com/rango/index.htm That should answer all of your questions.

Post Thanks / Like

im no pro but they will be shallow this time of year. Try the ledge . I float a headlight. don't be suprised if they sit on the bottom at night.try 6-10 ft.I do better after the spawn. many times i get em 4-6 inches off the bottom all night, and never see em on the fish finder.use slip bobs and minnows. Keep warm cloths in a plastic bag.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re

I guess the main thing I wanted to know was what time should I start, and when should I give up or move if I don't catch anything?

Post Thanks / Like

Get out there and get set-up before dark. So, what time you should go depends on how long it takes you to get set-up. Cut the lights on at dusk and wait at least a couple of hours, unless the wind is bad.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Caught 6 Last Night

I caught six last night. They were mostly small though. Only 1 keeper. I was anchored right over a channel ledge where there was a S shaped bend. There appeared to be alot of fish on the depthfinder. The channel was 22' and the top of the ledge was 12'. The water temperature is in the high 50's. I was only out there about 3 hrs after dark. I intend to go back Saturday night and fish longer. It seems like it would be a great spot. Maybe I should try some deeper water??? Wait longer??? Any thoughts??? Anybody else having luck right now at night or should I wait till after spawning???

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like