Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cotton seed

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cotton seed

I've heard that cotton seed will attract minnows and larger fish to condos and brushpiles. Need some info on what to do. I am a cotton farmer and seed is no problem for me. How much do I need to put in a spot? How long will it last? What is it that draws the fish? The oil? Any thing else that can be added will be appreciated. Thanks. CF
    The Original Woodsgoat Hater
    2011 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion

Post Thanks / Like

I have heard the same about bales of alfalfa. Seems to start a mini food chain.

Post Thanks / Like

guys down hear in south louisiana use cotton seed blocks and sink them on their trash piles. it works

Post Thanks / Like

I don't know the process that makes it work but am pretty sure it attracts
    bait fish. I used to sink a double burlap sack with 20-25 lbs of cottonseed meal with my brush or add it to a pile when it seemed the bite had slowed.
    I can say for a 100% fact that it does work. I put too much of it out too many times and it made such a radical difference it couldn't be coincidence.
    Jeff
    Shoer,
    12th Degree Ninja

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by horseshoer
    I don't know the process that makes it work but am pretty sure it attracts
    bait fish. I used to sink a double burlap sack with 20-25 lbs of cottonseed meal with my brush or add it to a pile when it seemed the bite had slowed.
    I can say for a 100% fact that it does work. I put too much of it out too many times and it made such a radical difference it couldn't be coincidence.
    Jeff

Horseshoer I will take that as a vote of confidence for the product. How or where does one get cotton seed? And what type areas is it placed, and in what application?

Post Thanks / Like