Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Power Trolling question(s)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Power Trolling question(s)

I am very new to this idea and just getting started with power trolling(16ft poles/heavy wgts 5oz). My main question is what structures are best to fish. I end up fishing lakes I have never been to and there may not be "true flats"? Right now my ideas would be to travel up creeks and setup and s-pattern creek channels out to the main lake points? Upper ends of lakes with shallower flats 10-15ft? Any help would be great! Thanks! Brad
    Last edited by BradbTXfishin; 02-14-2011 at 09:24 PM.

STUMP HUNTER is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I would be looking for suspended fish over channels while using that amount of weight. You are trying to cover a lot of water at a faster speed. I would follow the channel edges watching your DF and adjust the depth to where you are seeing fish or a little below bait. Crappie will suspend near structure and channel edges are structure. Start out with bait at different depths, 4' to 14' deep and see where the crappie bite is and adjust all your rods to that depth. Try to work one edge of the channel into the coves or creeks and work the other edge of the channel coming out. Be sure to work the main channels where the creek channels meet. Channels are a crappie's highways.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER ---------
    Ascend 133X 13' - MotorGuide Xi3 & Mercury 4

Post Thanks / Like