Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: If you were to make some trolling rods...

Post Thanks / Like

Default If you were to make some trolling rods...

I've recently discovered that I'm pretty good at wrapping rods and I need some practice. I'm new to trolling lipped cranks for Crappie, so I don't have a whole bunch of base knowledge for what rods to use, but I'd like to wrap some up. I've read the trolling 101 thread (just about) entirely, so I have at least a little head knowledge. I know I'd like to wrap six rods- two 14'ers, two 10'ers, and two 6'ers. I'll use the Okuma Magda 15's as reels.

What would y'all like to see in your ideal Crappie trolling rods?

What rod speed?
    What weight line?
    What blank material?
    What handle material?
    What length handle?
    What kind of guides?
    What kind of reel seat?
    How many pieces?

Considering these would be purpose-built trolling rods, what weight would you want to pull Bandit 300's? I have spinning rods that I can/will use for spider jigging up front.

Thanks for the replies.

Post Thanks / Like

Moderate slow rod, 10 lb line, E-glass, 12" cork handle, fuji seats and guides, 2 pc.
    We, the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing."

Post Thanks / Like

Moderate action,
    8-14 lb is all I troll with,
    graphite with fiberglass scrim,
    Hypalon, although I might consider some of the new graphite covered foam. Eva gets slick when slimed by a catfish and deteriorates after a few years.
    at least 16" butt, then standard seat, then 4 or 5" foregrip
    microguides (sz 3.5-5)
    trigger seat, I like the trigger cause it keeps the rods from rotating in the holder
    2 piece for transport

Batson RDR is about as close I have found to what I like to buy, if I were building my own rods.