Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Question on trolling

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question on trolling

Ive always just jig fished, but ive watched these guys trolling, spider riging whatever you may call it and Im ready to try it. To get to my question what kind of tackel do i need for this kind of fishing or is it not much different than jig fishing. Ill be fishing Reelfoot Lake and Wappapello Lake. Im sure that ill look real funny out there till i get the hang of handling 4 pole at one time but I do thank you for the help and advise.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no pro.aint done it long myself.I started by getting 8 10-14 ft rods.GPS to watch my speed and 1/2to 3/4 oz lead.Already had lots of jigs.I think it is best to just start with 1 jig or hook per rod. I first tried with 2 per rod, what a mess I had.Look around on CDC for differnt set ups.Hope this helps. I learn something new every time I go!
    FISH 55

Post Thanks / Like

I have never been on reelfoot but I understand that it is loaded with stumps and shallow. If you arent getting hung up you are in the wrong place. I would use light wire hooks and or a jig with weed guard. put as many hooks on as many lines as the law will allow and go fishing. Light wire hooks will pull loose and the weedguard is less likely to get hung up. Seasoned crappie fishermen get a lot of practice tying knots. Get you some !!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Go with someone who does it, that is the easiest way to learn. It ain't rocket science, but it is helpful to learn hands on from someone who is experienced.
    Carl's Guide Service
    Sardis Lake
    Enid Lake
    Grenada Lake
    901-734-7536

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Longer poles out in front of the boat help keep the lines out of the TM....