Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plastic 2 man trolling motor help?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Plastic 2 man trolling motor help?

I am new to crappie.com and am looking for some help. I researched some old threads on this topic but am looking for some new input from your experiences.

I purchased a Bass Hunter EX...basically a 9.5' X 4' two man plastic boat. I am looking for a trolling motor. The boat's primary use will be crappie fishing in small waters. Most of the time I fish with two long poles, one in each hand.

Based on that, the Motorguide Bulldog with 40lb thrust seemed the perfect option as it mounts on the bow with a transom mount bracket and has a foot control; however, it's a 5 speed and my concern is the slowest speed will still be too fast (while fishing) for a small boat like mine.

The other option I am entertaining is the transom mount style, hand control, with the variable speed. Benefits to this option is more versatility on boat speed and better battery draw efficiency....like the MinnKota Traxxis.

That being said, can anyone provide experience with the Motorguide Bulldog 40 on a small plastic boat? If it's not too fast at the slowest speed setting it is what I would like to buy.

Post Thanks / Like

I don't have any input on that trolling motor, but I would recommend a rudder of some type on the rear transom. Otherwise you'll have a real problem maintaining a straight line.

eric

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by bass4x4 View Post
    I don't have any input on that trolling motor, but I would recommend a rudder of some type on the rear transom. Otherwise you'll have a real problem maintaining a straight line.

eric
    Thanks for the reply...I did buy a rudder from Bass Hooligans. The rudder was an accessory made by Buster Boats for their Pond Hopper and it fit perfect. Just clamped on the transom mount.

Post Thanks / Like