Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is this?

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Question What is this?

Here's a pic of the sonar while anchored night stalking the other nite. Since I'm new to depth finders so what do you guys think I'm seeing on the screen? BTW, I was set up on a clean botton and did have threadfin coming to the top while fishing. We were catching most of our a couple feet from the bottom and a few @ 14 foot deep.
    Last edited by gabowman; 03-13-2006 at 09:20 PM.
    Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.

Post Thanks / Like

Here's another view. I kept the sensitivity set at 70% withy the fish ID cut off.
    Last edited by gabowman; 03-13-2006 at 09:20 PM.
    Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.

Post Thanks / Like

The cloud at the top looks like surface clutter and/or shad. Those dark lines that start and stop and change depth levels are probably fish that are swimming into and out of the "cone" or view of your graph (assuming the boat is not moving) at depths from around 15-feet to 25-feet and also close to the bottom.

We've been led to believe that we should be seeing "fish arches" on our depth finders but in order to get a "typical" arch the boat or fish has to be moving at a pretty good clip and the fish must pass completely through the cone from one side to the other in a short period of time. If the fish stays in the cone it will make a dark line. If it stays at the same depth the dark line will go straight across the screen. If the fish changes depth the line will move up or down accordingly.

If you'll watch the screen for a bit while anchored in one spot and note where the fish are hanging out and then turn on your Fish ID you can tell if your Fish ID is really showing fish or not.