Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whats nice and resonable crappie reel!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Whats nice and resonable crappie reel!

Hi...Ive been crappie fishing for about 4 years but i want to get a nicer reel. Im looking to spend about 100 bucks. It has to be a spinning reel and it needs to be small. Let me know if you have any suggestions! Thanks
    The Crappie King of Ellendale Ave.

Post Thanks / Like

pflueger supreme 8030 $99.95 or get 2 bass pro ex10 $49.95 each
    Minnermatics Prostaff
    My wife lets me buy all the rods and reels I can hide.

Post Thanks / Like

Any of the shimano reels will work fine for you. I have been using the cheap solstace 100s for about 11 years now with no problems what so ever. They have had miles of line reeled on them, all we throw is plastic. The drag is good also, bass in the 5# class and cats up to 12# with no problems. I will spend the money on bass reels but not for crappie.

Post Thanks / Like

There are a lot of guys here who will tell you Shimano is the only way to go, but frankly they have dropped the ball except for one reel. The stradic Ci4. I must admit that if they incorporated some of the improvements into the new 2011 reels I may start recommending and using them again, but for now I'd suggest one of the reels below.

Pflueger Supreme Spinning Reels

Daiwa Exceler-HA Spinning Reels

Gander Mountain® > X-Factor Spinning Reels - Fishing > Reels > Spinning Reels :
    Good things come to those who bait.

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum
    Post Thanks / Like