Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new crappie fisherman needs help

Post Thanks / Like

Default new crappie fisherman needs help

I am new to the crappie fishing world, i have always fly fished for trout. Me and a friend are going to norfork lake over new years and any tips would be appreciated.Just bought a new used boat also so am learning at that as i go. thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Hire a guide....I have never considered norfork a crappie destination, that lake is huge, clear, and deep. Ask on the Arkansas board for specific information. Good luck!
    Carl's Guide Service
    Sardis Lake
    Enid Lake
    Grenada Lake
    901-734-7536

Post Thanks / Like

Read everything you can, and practice whenever you can and check in here steadily. Much knowledge imparted here; welcome to Crappie College!

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Welcome from Middle Tennessee. Pick up some 1/16th oz jigheads and some Panfish assassin tiny shad bodies or tubes in several different colors and that will get you off the ground. Look for crappie on bottom structure or changes, like chunk rock to gravel, and also in treetops that have fallen into deep water. Patience is your best friend and keep in mind this may be a whole new style of fishing and there's lots to learn. Crappie will hit a seemingly motionless jig as well as a curl tail on a steady retrieve at different times. Try everything you can think of, and when you cast and let the jig fall, count it down. you'll find that most hits will come pretty close to one another. Ask all the questions you can come up with, there's no dumb ones. We all asked them.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Bob # 1 is offline Moderator Fisherman's Memorial Forum * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by skeetbum View Post