Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The go to

Post Thanks / Like

Default The go to

I was just wondering what you all use as a go to lure or bait when you can't seem to catch anything. I am a rookie at crappie fishing. I have only fished for them for about 2 years I think. Probably less than that. I had only caught crappies on minnows until this year when I bought a couple of rooster tails. My go to lure is a white rooster tail. It seems to catch something. What do you reach for when nothing else is producing? Explosives don't count. :D

fishintiger
    fishintiger

Look for me on Ohio Game Fishing I'm fishintiger there too.

Still searching for that 20 inch crappie.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Welcome Tiger ....

I'd have to say that my "most used" bait would have to be a 1/16oz Oldhams Weedless Surelock jighead with a 1.5" BPS Sparkle Squirt tube in royal blue with silver metalflake and chartreuse tails. I am, however, depending more and more on several other brands and combo's. I don't really have a "go to" bait, that covers all aspects or conditions. I generally use whatever bait or setup that allows me to get that bait to the level of the fish - however deep or shallow, open or hidden that may be. Some examples of that are:

shooting docks - 1/32oz P&S Tackle weedless jighead / Panfish Assassin

casting timber - 1/16oz P&S Tackle or Oldham's jighead / tube

vertical casting - 1/16oz hair/feather jig (various brands)

shallow water casting - 1/32 to 1/16oz Roadrunner

deep water drifting - 1/16oz to 1/8oz jighead/minnow or hook/sinker/minnow