Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Lure weight vs strike detection

Post Thanks / Like

Default Lure weight vs strike detection

No bragging,,,ok? I am pretty good bass fisherman...

but for tightlining sacalait.. i am a newbie. I dont know a lot but willing to listen to those who KNOW.

My question....

I often use 1/32 oz jig and 1/16.

When you pop the jig to move it...the 1/32 is really slow in returning the line to tightness. The 1/16 is a little better.

My question is... for tightlining... do most use 1/8?

The slack from the 1/32 after popping the jig recovers so slowly.

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

You should be watching the slack in the line after you "pop"...

If the line does ANYTHING unusual while returning to it's original state..then set the hook....crappie tend to bite on the fall of the jig....sometimes he will just come up from under the jig and inhale it and not move..this will show in your line as an unusual stopping of the fall of the jig or a wierd sideways movement of the jig...

You won't always feel the bite..so watch that line as the jig is falling for unusual movements...

Sometimes you want that slower fall of a lighter jig....
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

Post Thanks / Like

A better questions might be what kind and test lines you should be using with light wts.
    I find light braid or mono work fine. You figure in the weight of the jig plus plastic lure, the depth you fish and the distance of the cast as factors that effect sensitivity.