Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stupid question. . . need advice

Post Thanks / Like

Default Stupid question. . . need advice

This is a question I've been kicking around for a few years and now I know I'm in a place to get educated opinions.
    I fish a small pond (owned by a friend) that has a quality population of nice white crappie. I mean, NICE crappie. Two years ago, one afternoon, I caught a dozen, mostly from a stand of cattails, that ranged from 3/4 of a pound to three that went about 2 pounds. Something in this pond is growing nice crappie, but I don't know if too much pressure can be put on a pond population (I think that would be difficult with crappie).
    I also lease another pond that is full of stunted black crappie. No quality, but lots of quantity. In an effort to grow more quality crappie/restock a pond/save perfectly good black crappie, do I move some black crappie to the first pond? Do the two species cross-breed or compete too much for food & space to the benefit of no one? How easy is it to over-populate a pond? Or over-fish a pond? Or do I leave a good thing well enough alone? (The owner says go for it if I want to.) Advice?

Post Thanks / Like

In the pond with good crappie, are there any bass? If so, do they run small or large?

How about the other pond?

Post Thanks / Like

I am no pond manager, but I wouldn't move fish from pond to another. Might cause problems. Sounds like the black crappie pond is over populated and you might need to keep the fish you catch evan if they are small.

Post Thanks / Like