Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buckhorn Lake

Post Thanks / Like

Default Buckhorn Lake

Hi everyone! I'm Matt, coming in from Manchester, Kentucky (Clay County), and this is my first time posting here. So, I've read the latest issue of Kentucky Game & Fish magazine and they have given Buckhorn Lake in Leslie & Perry counties the title of "Best Early Season Crappie Lake." Anyone have any experience with fishing for crappie on Buckhorn? I only live about 45 minutes from there, so I will probably be giving it a shot whenever the first big warm front comes in. I'm a little skeptical, because all I've heard about Buckhorn is MUSKY MUSKY MUSKY. And oh, by the way, anyone have any insight on good crappie artificials for KY crappie?
    All in all you're just another fish on my wall.

Post Thanks / Like

Matt
    Buckorn Lake has in the past produced good crappie. Rainfall can really effect this lake more than most lakes. Right now launching a boat may be difficult due to low winter pool level. Locating some brush on the lower lake area should be good but as the lake level rises I would move up into the mid/upper lake area.

Bill (Team Keelshield)

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Hey Matt ...

Quote Originally Posted by mattcombs
    And oh, by the way, anyone have any insight on good crappie artificials for KY crappie?
    Here's a copy of a previous post of mine, that may get you started in the right direction:

open water casting - 1/32oz Roadrunner (1-6ft) 1/16oz Roadrunner (6-15ft)
    wood cover casting - 1/32-1/16oz weedless jighead & 1.5" tube body or Panfish Assassin
    dock shooting - 1/32-1/16oz weedless jighead & Panfish Assassin
    vertical casting - 1/16oz marabou jig
    vertical tightline - #4 Gremlin clamp-on sinker, #1 Eagle Claw light wire bronze hook, lively minnow - Shad - Brook Silverside