PDA

View Full Version : Changing Your User Title - the line under your name in posts



Jerry Blake
01-31-2006, 08:39 PM
Stumpbumpers (I think it was) asked me in a PM about the User Title - the line under your name in posts. As I understand it the default titles are based on the numbers of posts a member has made.

I changed mine because I don't necessarily consider myself a “Crappie Grand Master” whatever that is. I thought posting the name of my guide service would be appropriate – let folks know right up front who I am before they waste their time reading my posts if they aren’t interested in a crappie fishing guide’s opinion.

If you want to change your User Title click on “User CP” on the left end of the tool bar at the bottom of the top window. Then click on “Edit Profile” in the “Control Panel” window. In the “Custom User Title” window type your new title in the bar under “Custom User Title”. Don’t click on the box next to “Reset” – leave it unchecked. Now scroll down and click on “Save Changes” and your new User Title should show up under your name in all posts after you refresh or reopen the forum.

While you’re in your profile area enter some information about yourself that you don’t mind sharing if you haven't already. Knowing where folks are from, what lakes they fish etc. makes it easier to get to know them and answer their questions.

stumpbumpers
01-31-2006, 08:42 PM
Thanks Jerry. It was me that PM'd you. Just wanted to know what it all meant. Thanks

Slab Hunter
01-31-2006, 09:08 PM
Jerry I can't find “Custom User Title” window ...:o
Could it be because I have an Avatar and you don't ? :confused:

Jason Piper
01-31-2006, 09:21 PM
I can't find the custom user title window either. I'm confused!

Darryl Morris
01-31-2006, 09:45 PM
I didn't find it anywhere either in the User CP, brother. It must be a moderator's option or something.

You may not think you're a Crappie Grand Master, but how about Crappie Clinician?

(n : a practitioner who does clinical work instead of laboratory experiments
Source: WordNet ® 2.0, © 2003 Princeton University)

Jerry Blake
01-31-2006, 10:20 PM
Hmmm, maybe it is a moderator only thing. I'm not a moderator on the main board though. After y'all click on "Edit Profile" do you not have a window under the "Email and Password" window titled "Optional Information - All information will be viewable by other forum members." My "Custom User Title" form is at the top of that window above where you enter your birth date. Under the birth date area are the "Home URL" and "Instant Messaging" areas.

If I do click the Reset box it sets my title to "moderator" so I guess it probably is a moderator only thing - sorry. :( I guess y'all will just have to be guppies, minnows and such until you work your way up to Crappie Grand Master!

Darryl Morris
01-31-2006, 10:28 PM
Nope, the birthdate is the first thing listed.

Mo'nBack
01-31-2006, 10:33 PM
Jerry; I have everything you mentioned except the "Custom User Title".
Hope this helps.

Slab Hunter
01-31-2006, 10:35 PM
Jerry if your a moderator, then only you (moderators) have that option available.... I'm sure...
I bet it was put there so you could be identified as moderator....

Better change it back before Ed sicks the computer police on you..... hehehehe:D

Jerry Blake
01-31-2006, 10:43 PM
Jerry if your a moderator, then only you (moderators) have that option available.... I'm sure...
I bet it was put there so you could be identified as moderator....

Better change it back before Ed sicks the computer police on you..... hehehehe:D

Naw, had it set up that way for a long time - thought anyone could do it. Don't want it saying "Moderator" under my name any more than "Crappie Grand Master" since I'm not a modertor on the main board - just the Arkansas board.

Slab Hunter
01-31-2006, 10:48 PM
Cool,
I did notice at the bottom of the state forums it list the moderator's name for that forum.....
It's all cool with me, but I think that is an administrative option...;)


Naw, had it set up that way for a long time - thought anyone could do it. Don't want it saying "Moderator" under my name any more than "Crappie Grand Master" since I'm not a modertor on the main board - just the Arkansas board.

CrappiePappy
02-01-2006, 08:27 AM
Jerry if your a moderator, then only you (moderators) have that option available.... I'm sure...
I bet it was put there so you could be identified as moderator....

Better change it back before Ed sicks the computer police on you..... hehehehe:D

Slab Hunter is right ... only Mod's have that option. But, don't worry about the "computer police" on the Main Board .... that'd be ME ;) and I know who's naughty & who's nice :eek: ... I just can't be on here 24/7 !! Any more shenanigans, like we just had - just ignore the posts and I'll clean things up when I come on-line .......... cp :cool:

Mo'nBack
02-01-2006, 11:18 AM
But, don't worry about the "computer police" on the Main Board .... that'd be ME ;) and I know who's naughty & who's nice :eek: ... I just can't be on here 24/7 !! Any more shenanigans, like we just had - just ignore the posts and I'll clean things up when I come on-line .......... cp :cool:

CP; For my part, I never doubted you cleaning up. I also know that we all have lives apart from CC and we have fish to catch and things to do! I knew once you seen the "shenanigans" that you'd be fast and accurate on the delete button! You and all the moderators do a wonderful job as far as I'm concerned and I applaud and thank you for all your efforts!