Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Please Help.................

Post Thanks / Like

Default Please Help.................

I have started trying to raise my own redworms.

I started them in 48 quart plastic storage boxes. 20 worms in each box became so numerous that I had to move them to something bigger.

I have two old deepfreezers (about 22 cubic ft. ea.) I have the worm bedding in and have transferred the worms.

Twice they have decided to escape. I don't really want to put a light in the boxes because there is no electricity where I have them, and don't need the heat that would be generated by a light bulb. Also I am feeding Purina worm chow and I think they might not come up to eat if there is light in the box.

My question is, is there any sort of flashing or something that I can put around the wall of the box that they can not past?

I am new at this and would really appreciate any help anyone can give me.

Thanks

David Winston

azslabber is offline Crappie.com 2K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Just use some screening like for screen doors.Make a frame to fit tightly around the openning with a bolt coming through on each of the four sides and use a wingnut to tighten it up.There must be a reason why they are running.Moisture level,PH level,SOMETHING.
    "Garden Hackler"lol

"G" is offline Super Duper Moderator - 2012 Crappie.Com Man of the year & 2018 Crappie.com Decade of Exceptional Service Awards * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Two things will make them try to run out....not enough moisture....or too much moisture.
    I have spent most my life fishing........the rest I wasted.
    PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER
    PICO Lures Field Rep

Post Thanks / Like