Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: how to prevent jigs turning yellow

Post Thanks / Like

Default how to prevent jigs turning yellow

I started painting and powder coating bass & crappie jigs last year. I like to add eyes to the jigs I powder coat by dipping a drill bit in paint. It may not make that much difference but I like the way it looks and it gives me confidence.
    I originally used a seal coat from Do It on all my lures. I was told that the 2 part epoxy Do It sells would make them last forever and they jigs would never yellow and would look the same in 20 years as the day you first made them.
    Since then I've heard I'm better off using a seal coat because it want yellow but the epoxy will.
    Which is the better coat to put on that will not yellow?
    I need epoxy for my bass jigs because otherwise they will get chewed up in the rocks.
    The reason I need to know is because I want to stockpile as many jigs as I can for my sons and myself to be used for many years to come. I would hate to see all this work thrown away one day. When my grandson is old enough to fish, I want him to know the jigs he's using I made especially for him.
    Any help would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

If your jigs are getting chewed up in the rocks you're not curing the powder paint enough.

I prefer not to put any kind of coating on my powder painted jigs, to me it messes up the finish.

If the paint on your eyes is getting scraped off, just repaint them. Do your jigs really last that long fishing in the rocks? My jigs have a shorter life span than I'd like due to break offs.:rolleyes:

Post Thanks / Like

I agree...

Quote Originally Posted by GCD View Post
    If your jigs are getting chewed up in the rocks you're not curing the powder paint enough.

I prefer not to put any kind of coating on my powder painted jigs, to me it messes up the finish.