Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crappie fishing newbie here...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie fishing newbie here...

Hello.

Traditionally, I've been first and foremost a bass fisherman (please don't hold that against me). However, my best friend and I have recently went in together on an Aluminum bass boat. He is NOT a bass fisherman, but will go. He loves to crappie fish, but both him and I have previously only done it from the bank during spawn, and from docks. We've both only used light tackle such as 6' 6" rods with spinning reels on them. So, I'd like to start crappie fishing, b/c I know he would enjoy that more than just having me always wanting to bass fish, and I think a happy fishing buddy is better than a pissed off fishing buddy. Fall's around the corner, and I'd like to try and get a little bit of info before we start hitting it hard.

As I understand it, it's a different game with a boat, out in amongst the standing trees, that we have on a lot of lakes here in Missouri.

I recently purchased an inexpensive Wally Marshall combo (12' rod and miniature casting reel - that's what it looks like to me) from Bass Pro. As I understand it, it really helps you to jig out away from the boat and I think a 12' rod would help.

What I need to know: What size and type of hook do y'all recommend? Should I use a slip sinker to give it a little weight? How close to the hook should that sinker be? Is 6 lb. mono sufficient? That's what came pre-spooled on the reel. We'll be mostly fishing with minnows I believe.

Please help. I've heard there is a wealth of knowledge (and the typical lies that all of us fisherman tell!) I'd like to tap into that.

Thanks for the help, and taking the time to respond, if you so choose to.