Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crappie newbie needs help

Post Thanks / Like

Question Crappie newbie needs help

I am new to crappie fishing and this is my first post here. I am trying to figure out what the crappie are doing on a lake I fish and I need help. This forum seems to have lots of good info.
    This summer I started crappie fishing on a small lake (under100 acres) in southern Michigan. Following the advice of a friend, I tied a small jig on 9 foot WM rod and a 12 foot Cabalas rod. Tipped the jigs with a minnow and trolled slowly around using my electric motor. After a few times I realized the crappie were holding in weeds on two shelves about 8-10 foot deep and along a couple of drops offs. (I have sonar). If I could feel the weeds, I would catch crappie.
    I refined my presentation to using 4 lb Berkley improved Vanish line and seemed to catch more fish. I started trolling in small circles, putting both rods on the inside turn, making the jig go very slow. Finally I narrowed my jigs down to Northland Fire-Fly jigs – Bumblebee and Sunrise patterns. I also began to notice I was catching almost all my fish on whichever rod I was holding – suggesting to me I was missing many hits on the rod in the rod holder. I finally got to the point where I was limiting out on nice fish (for MI).
    Now that the cold weather has hit and the weeds are almost gone, I am having a hard time catching many fish. I will get a couple here and there, sometimes in places I didn’t get any this summer. I can’t seem to figure out where they are holding.
    The lake is about 30 feet deep and full of minnows. I know the crappie are still there somewhere. Are they deep?
    Can anyone offer some advice as to where they might be and how to catch them?
    Oh, I forgot - if they are in deep water, how do I fish for them?
    I have never had as much fun as I do catching crappie – love it! Makes me wish I lived farther south.
    jcass