Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: My new worm farm

Post Thanks / Like

Default My new worm farm

I'm new at this worm growing thing, so forgive my ignorance here. I would like to know if I'm on the right track here, or not.

I was buying my worms from a grower by the pound. I started a box just to keep the left overs. It kind of became a farm when I started seeing baby worms in quantity.

I started off with one of those Rubbermaid storage boxes that is, I don't know, maybe 50 quarts, in size. I added soil from my mulch pile to about a quarter full. I drilled a row of holes around the top, beneath the lid, for ventilation. I'm a few months into adding vegetable matter and that dirt is growing and looking good and rich.

I did keep it in the house until the wife saw a worm on the floor. So I put it on the back porch in the shade. When the temp went over 100*, I think the adult worms made exit through the ventilation holes seeking cooler ground. There's still a good bunch of youngsters in it, so all is not lost.

I was wiping the rim with some dish washing liquid periodically in an attempt to keep them from escaping. Either that doesn't work or I let it get week enough to allow them to get gone.

I put all of our left over fruit and vegetable cuttings, tea bags, coffee filter and grounds, shredded news paper and any other uncooked organic matter in there. I read somewhere that I could add a quart a week in a box this size.

What do you think? I'd like to here from you pro's about this. Worms are good fish bait and can become expensive.

STUMP HUNTER is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like