Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My new (free) boat!

Post Thanks / Like

Question My new (free) boat!

Ok so a buddy of a buddy gave me this boat, titles and all everything good on that end. It has a 70 hp johnson on it with the 3 carbs. the boat has set for 4 years but a week before he put it up he had the whole motor gone through cost him about $380.00. a week after he got it gone through his father passed away leaving him a real nice bass boat so he just parked this one out by the barn and it didnt move till i picked it up last week. seats and all are gone, but i already have the replacements bought. needs a good cleaning, and carpet and im pretty sure it is gonna need new steering cables. (I've never had a boat with a steering wheel

My question: is there anything in particular i should look for or check.

An info or help is appreciated!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no mechanic but here are a couple of tips....

Hopefully the previous owner either had fuel stabilizer in the gas or ran it dry before storing. If you had any old fuel in the carbs that sat that long, it could certainly cause a problem. You can buy a can of engine tuner at a marine shop (not auto carb cleaner) and run it through or you can buy a product called Seafoam at most marine/automotive shops which will help to clean things out. Still, if you have too much gunk build up in the carbs from old gas, those things might not help and you may have to rebuild them.

Another thing I would be concerned about is the water pump. A water pump has a rubber impeller in which the blades remain in a bent position. If they have not moved in a few years and have been sitting out in the elements, I would recommend changing it. (Even if that was done before the owner put it up.) I believe the motor manufacturers recommend changing them every year or two anyway.