Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4'7" rod used for flyfishing!

Post Thanks / Like

Default 4'7" rod used for flyfishing!

this is my "setup" i'll call it.the rod(quantum micro spin model ms-54sul) is an ultra light rod that is really slender.on the rod handle it has plastic pieces for a reel seat,which i have moved to the bottom of the rod handle to hold the tiny reel in the same area a reel would be on real fly rod.the reel i acually ordered from pen fishing rods website.it has got to be the smallest fly reel i have ever seen!i took some fly line off of an older heavier fly reel and used it on this tiny thing.i have power pro 10 pound test as fly line backing,and a leader.im not sure exactly what size the fly line is.im new to fly fishing and fly tying.i've started on jigs a few months back,and started doing some flys after i put together my rod and reel lol.im not familiar with fly line termanology or anything either.what size fly line would you recomend for my setup?i desire a fly line that is smaller diameter than what is already on the reel so i could possably fit more of it on the reel.the reel doesn't seem to fit a lot of fly line on it in the first place.i imagine i would be able to cast further with more fly line?the thing casts smoothly when im casting properly.i feel confident i could bring in heavy strong fish without anything breaking easily.the rod iteself is a 1 piece graphite rod.and with that power pro 10 pound,not much stands a chance of breaking off unless its a species with sharp teeth.anyways here's a link to photos i took with my digi cam of my fly rod,reel,and flies,hope you enjoy. Christopher Spaloss's Photos - june27 | Facebook

Post Thanks / Like