Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: How to hold a jigpole?

iceman cometh Guest

Default How to hold a jigpole?

I'm a newbie to tightlining crappie on a jigpole in the "softwater" months(spring,summer,and fall), though it is the main technique I use in the winter through the ice on ice gear. I bought a cheap 12' slab seeker pole last year and only fished it two days. I was really disappointed. First off, I spent the first hour trying to cast or slingshot it with horrible results, only to find out later it was used for vertical jigging. So, I went back the second day, fished from my boat, and within 10 minutes I thought my arm was going to fall off from the weight of the pole. I tried sliding the reel up or down on the seat to see if this would help, but it didn't. Is there a proper way to hold these long poles so it doesn't feel like your arm is going to fall off?

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Iceman ...

what you are experiencing is two things: one, the heaviness of "glass" type rods - and, the difference between a 12ft longpole and a micro-lite ice fishing rod :rolleyes: Sounds like what you've got is more suited for putting in a pole holder :o (definitely not for casting or "shooting" with) And about the only way you can use "your" particular outfit for vertical jigging - is to have enough handle length "behind" the reel, to rest under your forearm (and not just hold the rod/reel with your wrist).