Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to KC & Smithville Lake

Post Thanks / Like

Question new to KC & Smithville Lake

I have been told that Smithville lake is a good place to go, but struggling to find detailed info on it. Do you have to pay to "get in?"

Also, it seems to be a big place and I hear you all discussing locations with letters and #'s, and I can't figure out what you're talking about. Are there certain areas of SV lake that are best for Crappie or is the entire lake decent, just depending on the day?

Any tips or suggestions will be appreciated!

Also, I am new to crappie fishing - I just posted some Q's in the main forum - please hop over there if you have any tips you can give me!

Post Thanks / Like

Smithville is a good lake. Truman IMO is the best lake in MO, Ton of big crappie, withought big boats of LOZ.

What area do you live in? For me, in Lees Summit it makes more sense to me to go to Truman rather then Smithville, but I also fish the Jackson Co lakes a lot.

I belive Smithville is 18.00 per day, or they sell a yearly pass. Truman is 3.00 per day at the corps ramps. Plenty of free ramps also.

Do you have map chips of any kind for fishfinder or handheld GPS? This is a must have to me, Lots of Timber on both lakes. Although you can navigate a lot of Smithville without it and still catch fish, but on Truman I wouldn't go out without digital maps.

W is the highway that crosses Smithville, and there is a ramp there. A lot of people fish the bridge pillars. Fun place for the family to catch a ton of fish.

Hope some of this helps.

keeferfish is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Smithville Lake

Lots of good info here

Post Thanks / Like

I live up near the airport - where is Truman Lake?? Smithville Lake is about 25-30 min for me.

So, if I am driving along W highway once I get up there, will I see the bridge you are talking about?

Post Thanks / Like