Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question? Black Crappie & Cranks

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question? Black Crappie & Cranks

do they hit them readily. I have been seeing some post about it being a waste of time to push or pull cranks if your lake has black crappie only. The saying is white crappies love them and black crappies do not. Is this true or a myth? Need input. Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Countrytime View Post
    do they hit them readily. I have been seeing some post about it being a waste of time to push or pull cranks if your lake has black crappie only. The saying is white crappies love them and black crappies do not. Is this true or a myth? Need input. Thanks
    I have been pulling cranks for 3 years now and have caught 2 black crappie on them and a couple thousand whites.

WALLY MARSHALL PRO STAFF
    CATCHIN' CRAPPIE GUIDE SERVICE
    CREEKS ROD TRANSPORT RACK
    870-307-2572

Post Thanks / Like

I may not be a lot of hep, as I only use crankbaits from time to time. But from what I have gathered so far, is you DO catch mostly whites, at least where I pull them. I don't see why you couldn't catch blacks, I guess it just depends on the depth of you bait. I usually run baits in the 15' to 20' range and catch whites on main lake ledges. I think I catch mostly whites because the tend to be in deeper water.
    HAND TIED CRAPPIE JIGS CRAPPIECOLLECTORS JIGS

https://www.etsy.com/shop/CRAPPIECOL...g_id=515350944

Post Thanks / Like

The Kentucky Game & Fish Commission or whatever it's called did a big study on Kentucky Lake which has been reported on this site before. As I recall it showed that black crappie tended to stay shallower than white crappie and that they tended to relate more to cover whereas white crappie tended to suspend in open water during certain times of the year. If this is so I can see why most crappie caught trolling cranks would be whites.