Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help!! New to Crappie fishing, but not to fishing.

Sierra Vista, Arizona; originally from Tampa, FL
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Help!! New to Crappie fishing, but not to fishing.

Glad to have a forum to share secrets and tips...and of course spots. I am new to the crappie fishing thing, but have tried it 3 times. I did it at night with minnows on Vernon Lake, and caught one. My buddies that I brought on my boat, caught some; like 3 nice size. I don't know if we got the technique down. I really wanna get into them with those jigs. I am down here at Fort Polk and wanna try Toledo Bend..prefer the South end. I have fishing there several times but never crappie, only Hybrid Striper and bass. I have a boat and the hook and line map...plus a gps. I need to know what tackle (bait or whatever to get them into the boat) and location. Oh and how to catch'm. I am willing to take somebody along with me on the water. in exchange for a CRAPPIE 101 class.

Dino
    Dino...
    (25 year U.S. Army retiree and Combat Veteran)
    :D Fishing is fun; Catching is better

Post Thanks / Like

welcome from Georgia,post on the Texas board someone will help you
    get d net <*((((((>{ PROUD MEMBER OF TEAM GEEZER

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome From Tn.!! With Jigs the most common used is 1/16 oz.,with mini tube baits[squirmin squirt from Bass Pro,ect.]. You can either vertical jig[best over brush piles,condos,ect] or Cast and Retreive. I use this method 85 % of the time. I use a fairly slow retreive year round as Crappie Wont expend alot of energy to eat most of the time like Bass will.Also you always want to try to keep your bait above or at fish level as they will go up to feed but i personaly dont beleive they'll go down. Hope to have helped you some- Cant tell you anything about your location. GOOD LUCK TO YA!!!
    Good Fishin To Ya!! Dennis Dale Hollow Crappie www.dalehollowcrappie.4t.com