Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barometric Pressure and Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Barometric Pressure and Crappie

I've been wondering as of late, if Crappie are as affected by the Barometric Pressure as other fish like Catfish. It's fairly well known that Catfish bite better on a rising barometer and/or when the pressure is 30 or above. (at least the folks in my neck of the woods know this)

Since I'm fairly new to fishing for Crappie year round, I'm wondering if the same holds true for Crappie.

So far this year, my notes don't show a definite pattern. I may need to fish a lot more before I start seeing a pattern on this. Oh well...more Crappie trips all in the name of research

Just wondering what others experiences have been.

Post Thanks / Like

I like the dark of the moon is the best and yes I think barometic pressure also plays a part in fishing. the higher the pressure the shallower the fish??? or is it the deeper the fish.???

Post Thanks / Like

I've been monitoring the barometer on all my fishing trips the last few years and my data is inconclusive. I remember reading that if the fish were to change their depth by one foot they would feel far more pressure from that than they ever would from the barometer changing. I do wonder if they sense something that us humans don't.

2010 NWR Bash Crappie Division Champion

Post Thanks / Like

Default Effects of barometric pressure on crappie

I have never maintained a fishing log but if you go to In-Fisherman | Catch More and Bigger Fish! and enter barometric pressure in the search box you will get quite a few articles. Some of them are crappie specific. I like that magazine and have learned quite a few tricks from it. Looks like I have some more learning to do.
    Jim (Ike) Isaac - San Diego CA

Purveyor of sea stories, fish tales
    and other prevarications.

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like