Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Big fish bait

Post Thanks / Like

Default Big fish bait

hello im relatively new to crappie fishing, although I have been consistently catching lots of keepers. yummmy but uh i was looking for some advice on bait choice targeting monster crappies pushing 14". I havnt tried articials much but i was thinkin more live bait is key. what you guys think?

Post Thanks / Like

you can catch big crappie on small or large baits. However i think what you might be talking about is with bigger baits you generally catch bigger fish. Some folks like to troll crank baits and have pretty good luck cathing the bigger fish that way. Also live bait at times tends to bring bigger fish on occasions.

Post Thanks / Like

1/4 oz jig heads and Southern Pros 2.5" walleye tubes

B'n'M Pro Staff
    Driftmaster Pro Staff
    Vicious Pro Team

Post Thanks / Like

Fish with the prevalent size of minnow that lives in your lake. I catch a lot of 14+ size crappies on 1-2 inch minnows, tails, and grubs. But I only target crappies in the early spring, I switch species after the end of April. The predominante size of minnow is very small at this time of the year (1-2 inch) but in a couple of months those small minnows will be 3-4 inch. If I was going to target crappies I would use a larger minnow later in the spring.

Post Thanks / Like

thanks for the advice and I was thinkin about tryin it after dark tonight where are the crappies at night? by the way its windy and a storm is comin in for the weekend im guessin.

Post Thanks / Like