Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Newbie with a question: Did I miss the spawn?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbie with a question: Did I miss the spawn?

Although this is my first time posting I have been reading your wisdom and joking around for over a year.

I fish a lake that is about 6 or 7 acres, depth average 3-5ft with and a drop off to 20-35 ft that is about the size of a football field, caught some really nice crappie there last year in the shallows. Caught a few this year when the water temp was about 59, two weeks ago went back yesterday water temp is now 70 picked up one keeper and 5 smaller males in the shallows. Caught 5nice bass on my jigs. Did I miss the spawn?

Post Thanks / Like

Wouldn't think so. They do tend to spawn a little earlier in the smaller lakes, especially the more shallow ones, as the water temps warm more quickly. But even if they have been spawning for a little while on that lake, you should still be able to find them in the bushes.

Good to hear from you. Welcome!!! Would love to have you join us that the WTCC meeting next Thursday.

Post Thanks / Like