Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crappie @ Choke Canyon, Texas

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie @ Choke Canyon, Texas

I am new at crappie fishing but desperatley would like to learn how to catch some. I have tried repeatedly at Choke Canyon(CC) w/o success. Please don't write back that a moron can catch them there cause that would really hurt.:rolleyes: But I just tried minnows and jigs at bridge and some brush piles I made. Must be doing it wrong. I do not see many posts on CC on crappie .com.----Looking for help.------redfish1

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    I am new at crappie fishing but desperatley would like to learn how to catch some. I have tried repeatedly at Choke Canyon(CC) w/o success. Please don't write back that a moron can catch them there cause that would really hurt.:rolleyes: But I just tried minnows and jigs at bridge and some brush piles I made. Must be doing it wrong. I do not see many posts on CC on crappie .com.----Looking for help.------redfish1
    First off right now they should be shallow so not on brush piles deep now, that is more summer pattern.

Try pulling some 1/32 OZ. Roadrunners in water you see lots of fish on your sonar in say 6' to 11' deep water right now. Just cast it out as far as you can and take off using you troll motor set on 3 if it's a varialbe speed one.

Also check out Capps & Coleman Spider rigging with jigs and minnows in that same water now. Here is some of that info...

Here are some links to Capps & Coleman style and the first one has a video.

Crappie Guide

Crappie World Magazine | How To Catch The Biggest Slabs

Master a technique!..Ronnie Capps & Steve Coleman

You can also cast to the bank and reel slow out and keep doing that if you find them right up on the bank and they will get there at times really shallow.