Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I never knew the decision would be so tough.

Post Thanks / Like

Default I never knew the decision would be so tough.

I've been out of the crappie business since I moved to East TN from West TN six years ago. Always felt like I was missing something and I'm sure it's not being on the water. I used to drive 1.5 hours to fish Ky Lake religiously. Now I have a lake access about a mile down the road in our neighborhood and I'm not fishing.

Well with that said I have been scoping out both used and new boats for about two months now. I've driven as far as 4 hours to look at a F&F but it was a little too used for my liking. I've looked at G3's, Tritons, SeaArks and War Eagles. I've never bought a new car because you lose money when you drive it off the lot, but I am on the verge of buying a new boat. Although I would like a 2072 there isn't enough room for me to get it in the garage, so it looks like an 1860. G3 has a 1966 but I just don't like the layout of the boat, and truth be known an 1860 is big enough for us.

One thing about the SeaArks I like is that I can get the gas tank up near the bow, but the War Eagle is in the rear. Sea Ark has a 15 degree rise where War Eagle has a 12. Both boats can be protected with vinyl or SeaArk has a spray on Gator Hide or something like that. Both weigh about the same but the SeaArk is rated for a 90 and the War Eagle is rated for a 115. Both boats are close in price with the SeaArk being a little cheaper, but there is just something about the War Eagle I like. Can't quite put my finger on it.