Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New Guy Tackle suggestion

Post Thanks / Like

Default New Guy Tackle suggestion

Hello All

I am new to crappie fishing twords the end of last fall. I found a nice lake that is close and has a good boat ramp. The one trip I took there last year, my fishing buddy and I took 17 slabs home - most over the 1lb mark. We are both hooked on them now - even took some nice ones through the ice on this same lake. We are trying to gear up for the Spring and was hoping to get some recomendations. We are not opposed to spending a little money to get set up, but in the past have not been a big fan of the large species specific tackle kits that you see in cabelas or bass pro. I have been reading all I can here and it seems like the road runners are a must - can you help me spend some money by suggesting some other must haves to get the spring spawn off to a good start.

Thanks in Advance

Post Thanks / Like

get some southern pro tubes in a few different colors.also some jigheads 1/32 and 1/16 are the most popular sizes. also get a few pkgs of curly tail grubs in different colors. also bobbers in different sizes and shapes u can float jigs under these. other folks will chime in and give u more ideas try some marabou jigs and deer hair jigs.and my favorite slider grubs with weedless slider jigheads

Post Thanks / Like

What do you plan on doing? Troll crankbaits? Cast jigs? Dunk minnows? I would suggest different tackle for each one.

Post Thanks / Like

sent u a pm

Post Thanks / Like