PDA

View Full Version : Rods for jigging

Bigh
02-13-2010, 08:27 PM
What type of rods do you'll use for jigging for crappie? I need the length and type. I'm very new to this. Thanks, for your response.

CrappieKillerJigs
02-13-2010, 11:48 PM
10 - 12ft rods and i use outlaw....best rod on the market for sure....you can buy them online at Bluff City Tackle :: Quality does not cost ... it pays (http://www.bluffcitytackle.com)

if you need anymore info on them just let me know

Speck
02-13-2010, 11:59 PM
I second that on the Outlaw

yikess
02-14-2010, 12:02 AM
+1 on the Outlaw.

PIGINTHEPIGPEN
02-14-2010, 12:11 AM
12' BnM Sam Heaton Super Sensitive
12' Wally Marshall Signature Pro Series
11'6" Browning Six Rivers
11'6" Shimano

I might have to give Outlaw a try this year. I have to have Cork handles though. Last time I checked Outlaw did not have cork in the 12'

bugman
02-14-2010, 06:55 AM
10' ozark is the only jigpole i'll use,ozark rod co. 573-378-2220

luvin.fishin
02-14-2010, 07:46 AM
BnM ultra lite 11 or 12 foot. BBULBS11 (or 12)

B&M Rods (http://www.grizzlyjig.com/html/b___m_rods_2.html)

Bigh
02-14-2010, 08:02 AM
Thanks you all for the response. I will start rod shopping Monday. How about jiggs?

Crestliner08
02-14-2010, 08:31 AM
If you are referring to casting a jig for crappie, then I have to disagree with the aforementioned recommendations, with regards to rod length. Those long rods may be fine or drift fishing, or spider rigging, but if you're just casting jigs for crappie, I would recommend going with a much shorter rod.

My jig casting rod is a B n' M, Sam's Supersensitive 7' rod. Great spinning rod, when matched with Shimano 750 series reel (Sahara or Symetre). Load the two spools that come with them, with 2# & 4# test quality mono and you're good to go. I've never needed a longer rod for "casting a jig".

plumcrappie
02-14-2010, 08:48 AM