Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Early season bass baits?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Early season bass baits?

What do you guys use early on, just after the ice melts or for some of you the water starts to warm?
    I'll start with a t-rig senko, shallow cranks and a jig w/ trailer.
    Any better ideas?

Post Thanks / Like

during winter, I like to use baits the fish don't have to chase so I avoid spinners etc...

a variety of soft plastics retrieved very slow along the bottom for largemouths, and I like large bucktail hair jigs like the BPS Smallmouth Enticer for river smallies. Smaller 3 inch craw colored tubes work very well for me all year around with buckets, Smallies and Spotted Bass.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Red face I've got limited experience .....

Quote Originally Posted by dgi View Post
    What do you guys use early on, just after the ice melts or for some of you the water starts to warm?
    I'll start with a t-rig senko, shallow cranks and a jig w/ trailer.
    Any better ideas?
    ... with "ice out" conditions :p But, in the transitional stage of water warming from the 40's into the 50's ... I have caught Bass slow rolling a spinnerbait. Usually they can be found in the tributary creeks, slowly making their way back towards the incoming water ... especially if the incoming water is warmer rain runoff. When I was much younger than what I was in my Bass fishing days ... we (my grandparents, uncle, & myself) used to wait for rising water caused by warm spring rains. We'd go to the backs of creeks, and fish on the bottom with live nightcrawlers. We'd hook the crawler once, thru the band, and cast it out from shore .... then leave the button pushed (we only had spincast reels) and wait for the fish to start swimming off with the crawler.